India v New Zealand

Ashwin six secure India win | Match Reviews | Cricocean

The article includes Match Review, Match Prediction, Where to watch cricket live streaming, Live Cricket Match Score Card, Live Cricket Score Ball by Ball, Day by Day Summary, Team Squads and Man of the Match Sections as Ashwin six secure India win

India v New Zealand | 1st Test | Green Park, Kanpur

Ashwin six secure India win in first test match against New Zealand in Kanpur. In a match where New Zealand was dominating till 2nd days play, India came back strongly and clinch the match. Ashwin and Jadeja performed brilliantly in both the innings. Jadeja also performed well with the bat in both of the innings. The Duo of India collapsed New Zealand on third day and India managed to secure a good lead.

India won the toss and choose to bat first in India’s 500 test match. The match started with the ceremony in which mementos were presented to all the test captains of India. India scored 318 in their first innings. Vijay scored 65 runs while pujari managed to score 62. Trent Boult took 3 for 67 and Santner took 3 for 94 for New Zealand.

New Zealand started their first innings with confidence and created some good partnership at the start. India trapped New Zealand batsmen with spin as they know that the Islanders are not very good playing on slow and turning wickets. New Zealand kept on loosing quick wickets once Williamson got out.

New Zealand managed to score 262 in their first innings. In an innings where at one stage it was looking that New Zealand will managed to get 100 runs lead, India got 56 runs lead which was very good on a turning track.

Indian batsmen played better cricket in second innings of the test match and managed to extend their lead to 433 runs. Vijay scored second half century of the match as he scored 76 runs. Pujara scored 78 while Rohit Sharma scored 68 runs. It seemed to be a winning total on a wicket which had lots of wear and tear.

Ashwin six secure India win
India Team players celebrates victory against New Zealand

New Zealand batsmen were never into the game in the fourth innings and whole of the team got out by just scoring 236 runs. Only Ronchi was able to score 80 runs. None other batsmen stood in front of Indian Spinners. Ashwin was the one who got 6 wickets although he gave away 132 runs. At the end it was Ashwin six secure India win.

Jadeja was named man of the match as he scored 92 runs and took 6  wickets in the game. Indian captain Virat Kohli appreciated performance of both Ashwin and Jadeja in the all-important 500 test match for India. It was India’s 12th consecutive win in test matches at home soil. India never lost a test match at home soil after December 2012.  It is the third longest period for India that they have not lost any match at home soil.

Prior to this Indian team remain undefeated in 20 consecutive matches from 1977 to 1980. They also remain undefeated in 16 matches from 1960 to 1964. Ashwin took 10 wickets in the match which was his 5th 10 wicket haul in test matches. Ashwin also levels Harbhajan Singh in the list of most 10 wickets hauls for India. Only Anil Kumble is ahead now in spinners as he took 8 ten wickets haul for India.

Indian bowlers bowled 10 batsmen as LBW. It was also a record for India. Kohli in presentation ceremony declared Ashwin as priceless bowler for India. He said that Ashwin has a smart brain and he has the ability to take important decisions at crucial stages in the matches. He further said Ashwin is one who can contribute with both bat and bowl. One can add him in top 3 to 4 cricketers in the world right now. He is really a match winner.

Live Cricket Scorecard

  • Toss: India won the toss and choose to bat first
  • India 1st innings: 318 for 10 (Vijay 65, Pujara 62, Boult 3-67, Santner 3-94)
  • New Zealand 1st innings:  262 for 10 (Williamson 75, Jadeja 5-73, Ashwin 4-93)
  • India 2nd innings: 377 for 5 decl. (Pujara 78, Vijay 76, Sharma 68)
  • New Zealand 2nd innings: 236 for 10 (Ronchi 80, Ashwin 6-132)
  • India won the match by 197 runs
  • India lead the series 1-0.

Day by Day Summary

  • Thursday, 22 September – day 1 – India 1st innings 291/9 (Jadeja 16*, Yadav 8*, 90 overs)
  • Friday, 23 September – day 2 – New Zealand 1st innings 152/1 (Latham 56*, Williamson 65*, 47 overs)
  • Saturday, 24 September – day 3 – India 2nd innings 159/1 (Vijay 64*, Pujara 50*, 47 Overs)
  • Sunday, 25 September – day 4 – New Zealand 2nd innings 93/4 (Ronchi 38*, Santner 8*, 37 overs)
  • Monday, 26 September – day 5 – New Zealand 2nd innings 236/10 (87.3 overs) – EOM

Man of the match: RA Jadeja (India)

India Squad

  1. KL Rahul
  2. M Vijay
  3. V Kohli
  4. CA Pujara,
  5. AM Rahane
  6. RG Sharma
  7. R Ashwin
  8. WP Saha
  9. RA Jadeja,
  10. Mohammad Shami
  11. UT Yadav

New Zealand Squad

  1. TWM Latham
  2. MJ Guptill
  3. KS Williamson
  4. LRPL Taylor
  5. L Ronchi
  6. MJ Santner
  7. BJ Watling
  8. MD Craig
  9. IS Sodhi
  10. TA Boult
  11. N Wagner


Cricocean is a website containing Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket News, Ball by Ball Live Cricket Scores, Match Predictions, Cricket Match Astrology, Who Will Win Today Match, Cricket Schedule, Match Statistics, Latest Cricket Rankings, Rich Articles about Cricket Games including Test Matches, ODI's, T20's and different Premier Leagues like IPL, PSL, BBL, BPL and CPL taking place around the world. We as Cricocean are committed to provide you the best cricketing experience around the world. So keep visiting us.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker