Sri Lanka v Australia

Historical series win for Sri Lanka | Cricket Score | Cricocean

Sri Lanka v Australia | 2nd Test, Day 3

The article includes Live Cricket Score, Match Review, Match Predictions, Where to watch live cricket streaming, Day by Day Summary and Man of the Match Sections.

Sri Lanka snatched a historical win against Australia in Galle test to gain an unbeaten 2-0 lead in a 3 match test series. It is an embarrassing defeat for the top side in the world. The cricket score card suggest that Australia failed to score more than 200 runs in both innings of the test match. The detailed cricket score card is shown below.

Winning the toss on the first morning of the test match, Sri Lanka choose to bat first. The islanders managed to score 281 runs before they were bowled out an hour after tea on first day. Mendis scored 86 runs with the help of 10 fours and 2 sixes. Methews scores 54 runs including 3 fours and 3 sixes.

For Australia MA Starc took 5 for 44 in 16.1 overs. Lyon also took 2 wickets. Australia started their innings in a disaster. Only Marsh and Warner managed to score double figures. Australia were bowled out for only 106 runs. The inning only constituted of 33.2 overs. For Sri Lanka Herath and Parera took 4 wickets each for 35 and 29 runs respectively.

Cricket score
MDK Parera, Man of the Match

Sri Lanka in their second inning scored 237 runs and gave Australia a target of 413 runs to win. Parera scored 64 runs with the help of 7 fours and 2 sixes. For Australia MA Starc took 6 for 50 in 12.3 overs. Lyon once again took 2 wickets.

In chase of 413 runs Australia managed to score 183 runs in their second innings and thus losing the test by 229 runs. Once again none of the Batsmen managed to score a fifty. Parera took 6 wickets in the innings for 70 runs in 23 overs.

Sri Lanka completed its historical test series win over Australia by 2-0 with once test match to go. Parera was named man of the match for his all-round performance. He took 10 wickets in the match and scored a half century in the second innings. Parera now became the only player for Sri Lanka to take 10 wickets and scored a half century in the match. He is the 25th player in the history to achieve this landmark. Parera is also the fastest Sri Lankan to reach 50 wickets in test matches in only his 11th test match.

It is the first time in last 19 years that no Australian scored a half century in a test match. The performance was also Australia’s second ever worst performance in test matches for last 87 years as Australian innings in this test match only survived for 501 balls. The first one was against West Indies in Port of Spain when Australia only survived for 499 balls back in 1995.

Overall it was a great test match for Sri Lanka which constitute a historical win also. The next test match will start from 13 August in Sinhalese Sports Club Ground, Colombo.

Today Match Predictions

After the performance of first test, Sri Lanka were favorites for the second test. But one cannot rule out Australia who is no team in the world in ICC ranking for test. So both team had equal chances of 45% each of winning. And there were 10% chances of draw.

Where to watch live cricket streaming                

Match is telecast live by many broadcasters in the world. You can watch live cricket match on Ten Sports live streaming.

Cricket Score Card

  • Toss: Sri Lanka, chose to bat first
  • Sri Lanka (1st Innings) 281 for 10. (BKG Mendis 86, AD Methews 54, MA Starc 5-44)
  • Australia (1st Innings) 106 for 10. (Herath 4-35, Parera 4-29)
  • Sri Lanka (2nd Innings) 237 for 10. (Parera 64, Starc 6-50)
  • Australia (2nd Innings) 183 for 10 (Parera 6-70)
  • Sri Lanka won the match by 229 runs

Day by Day Summary

  • Thursday, 4 August – day 1 – Australia 1st innings 54/2 (UT Khawaja 11*, 13.3 overs)
  • Friday, 5 August – day 2 – Australia 2nd innings 25/3 (DA Warner 22*, SPD Smith 1*,  6 overs)
  • Saturday, 6 August- day 3- Australia 2nd innings 183/10 (50.1 overs) – End of Match.

Man of the Match: MDK Parera

Sri Lanka Squad

FDM Karunaratne, JK Silve, BKG Mendis, LD Chandimal, AD Methews, DM de Silva, MDKJ Parera, MDK Parera, HMRKB Herath, PADLR Sandakan, MVT Fernando

Australia Squad

JA Burns, DA Warner, UT Khawaja, SPD Smith, AC Voges, MR Marsh, PM Nevill, MA Starc, NM  Lyon, JR Hazlewood, JM Holland



Cricocean is a website containing Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket News, Ball by Ball Live Cricket Scores, Match Predictions, Cricket Match Astrology, Who Will Win Today Match, Cricket Schedule, Match Statistics, Latest Cricket Rankings, Rich Articles about Cricket Games including Test Matches, ODI's, T20's and different Premier Leagues like IPL, PSL, BBL, BPL and CPL taking place around the world. We as Cricocean are committed to provide you the best cricketing experience around the world. So keep visiting us.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker